What is First Presbyterian Church USA?

Presbyterian denominations in the United States have split and parts have reunited several times starting in the 18th century. Currently the largest Presbyterian denomination is the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), which has its national offices in Louisville, Ky. It was formed in 1983 as a result of reunion between the Presbyterian Church in the U.S. (PCUS), the so-called “southern branch,” and the United Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. (UPCUSA), the so-called “northern branch.” This reunion has been a bright spot of reconciliation and unity in the history of American Presbyterianism. Other Presbyterian churches in the United States include the Presbyterian Church in America, the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, the Evangelical Presbyterian Church, ECO (A Covenant Order of Presbyterians), and the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church.The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) is governed by its Constitution, the Book of Order and The Book of Confessions. The Confession of Belhar, a confession growing out of apartheid-era South Africa, was added the The Book of Confessions at the 222nd General Assembly (2016) in Portland, Oregon.


The session is the governing body of the church. It is comprised of men and women who are elected as Ruling Elders from among the congregation members as well as the Pastor who is also known as a Teaching Elder. Elders serve a three year term.

Clerk of Session 

Melissa Worthey 

Class of 2020

Patrica Bailey: Decan

Lauren Nash: Mission

Gary Willoughby: Building and Grinds/ Security Team 

Class of 2021

Vicky Rushing: Budget and Finance

Mason Summers: Fellowship/ Nominatiitng 

Melissa Worthey: Clerk of Session

Class of 2022

Tedra Gee: Christan Education 

Mitzi Parish: Worship/ Congregational Care

James Ross; Security Team/ Venture Scouts

Presbyterian Link
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Mason Summers maintains this site. Click here to email him for all of your marketing needs.